So this is something you don't see everyday:
My mind is blown that a Major League Baseball team actually batted out of order in a game. How can that happen? Also for the scoring nerds like me out there, you score it as a putout to the catcher. #Mets pic.twitter.com/6YASO1gqb9
— soph (@itsmrstealyour_) May 9, 2018
As the hometown paper, the New York Daily News, puts it: The Mets really "out-Metsed themselves" with this one. After trading former ace Matt Harvey to the Cincinnati Reds on Wednesday morning, the New York team ended their first inning at the Great American Ball Park with Asdrubal Cabrera hitting a double with two outs, out of order ... and thereby ending the inning.
The Mets batted out of order, and a double from Asdrubal Cabrera was erased as a result. pic.twitter.com/BCzUeZeh9p
— Jordan Heck (@JordanHeckFF) May 9, 2018
The Reds manager, Jim Riggleman, caught the error: Brandon Nimmo hit leadoff (he struck out), Wilmer Flores batted second (he struck out), and Cabrera hit his double going third. But per the official card, Cabrera was supposed to bat second, and Flores was supposed to bat third. Jay Bruce, the next batter in the Mets' lineup, was ruled automatically out (ESPN says that the official scorebook has Bruce out as a 2-unassisted, and Cabrera isn't credited with the hit in the box score).
The basic (and hilarious) mistake resulted in the groan heard 'round the world:
They say that you earn your pinstripes after your first big Yankees moment. Mickey Callaway just earned whatever it is that the Mets earn for being the Mets. How does a big league team, or any team, bat out of order?
— Matt Kardos (@mattkardos) May 9, 2018
Batting out of order is something that usually happens on church-league teams composed of over-eager 11-year-olds. But the Mets have a way of surprising us.
— Jason Foster (@ByJasonFoster) May 9, 2018