- Huh? May 14
Yu Darvish took a no-hitter into the ninth inning of a game last Friday against the Red Sox, except he actually didn't, Major League Baseball announced Wednesday.
At issue was a little blooper Sox slugger David Ortiz hit to shallow right in the seventh inning that fell between two confused fielders. With Darvish's no-hitter intact to that point, the official scorer ruled the play an error. But because neither fielder touched the ball, pretty much everyone else thought it should have been ruled a hit; Red Sox manager John Farrell said after the game that, "10 out of 10, that's a base hit."
The point was rendered moot when Ortiz singled cleanly with two outs in the ninth to break up what was then still considered a no-hitter. And with MLB's five-day-old scoring change giving Ortiz a second hit in the game, the Boston DH now holds the bizarre honor of having broken up a no-hitter after already (retroactively) breaking up the same no-hitter.- -
THE WEEK'S AUDIOPHILE PODCASTS: LISTEN SMARTER
- Watch out, China — America is working on dogfighting drones
- How liberals are unwittingly paving the way for the legalization of adult incest
- How to be the most productive person in your office — and still get home by 5:30 p.m.
- 43 TV shows to watch in 2014
- How the Simpsons/Family Guy crossover revealed the worst of both shows
- Why the Chinese military is only a paper dragon
- The troubling persistence of eugenicist thought in modern America
- Why America won't have enough money to battle ISIS
- 6 things the happiest families all have in common
- Libertarianism's terrible, horrible, no good, very bad idea
Subscribe to the Week