RSS
  • Huh?    May 14 
David Ortiz broke up a no-hitter twice in the same game
JIM ROGASH/Getty Images
JIM ROGASH/Getty Images

Yu Darvish took a no-hitter into the ninth inning of a game last Friday against the Red Sox, except he actually didn't, Major League Baseball announced Wednesday.

At issue was a little blooper Sox slugger David Ortiz hit to shallow right in the seventh inning that fell between two confused fielders. With Darvish's no-hitter intact to that point, the official scorer ruled the play an error. But because neither fielder touched the ball, pretty much everyone else thought it should have been ruled a hit; Red Sox manager John Farrell said after the game that, "10 out of 10, that's a base hit."

The point was rendered moot when Ortiz singled cleanly with two outs in the ninth to break up what was then still considered a no-hitter. And with MLB's five-day-old scoring change giving Ortiz a second hit in the game, the Boston DH now holds the bizarre honor of having broken up a no-hitter after already (retroactively) breaking up the same no-hitter.

- - 
 
 
Load More Articles

THE WEEK'S AUDIOPHILE PODCASTS: LISTEN SMARTER

Most Popular Speed Reads
FOLLOW SPEED READS

About Speed Reads
Speed Reads is TheWeek.com's continuously updated collection of the most interesting, important, and trending things on the internet – delivered with concision, intelligence, and wit. Contact us at speedreads@theweek.com.
Subscribe to the Week