The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry on Wednesday to John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino "for the development of lithium-ion batteries," collectively creating "a rechargeable world." Whittingham, a Briton at SUNY Binghamton, got the ball rolling in the 1970s, developing the first functional lithium battery, though it was too explosive to be commercially viable. Goodenough, a German-born professor at the University of Texas at Austin, doubled the lithium battery's potential, and Yoshino rid the battery of pure lithium and created the first commercially viable lithium-ion battery in Japan in 1985. "The result was a lightweight, hardwearing battery that could be charged hundreds of times before its performance deteriorated," the Nobel Committee said.

Scroll for 5 things you
need to know now