Louisiana State University defeated Clemson 42-25 in the Superdome on Monday night, earning the team's first national championship since 2007. LSU came into the game ranked No. 1, while Clemson, last year's winner, was No. 3. Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow set a new CFP National Championship Game record for passing yards and touchdowns after he finished the game with 463 yards on 31-of-49 passing, five touchdowns, and zero interceptions. LSU had a phenomenal year, going 15-0 this season.

Scroll for 5 things you
need to know now