President-elect Joe Biden's transition team announced top Cabinet picks on Monday. Biden selected Alejandro Mayorkas to lead Homeland Security, Avril Haines as director of national intelligence, and former Secretary of State John Kerry as special envoy on climate. Kerry said he would help the incoming administration treat "the climate crisis as the urgent national security threat it is." Mayorkas worked in the Obama administration and was a lead architect of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program. Biden also confirmed some expected nominations, including Antony Blinken as secretary of state, Linda Thomas-Greenfield as U.N. ambassador, and Jake Sullivan as national security adviser. Biden is expected to nominate former Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen to lead the Treasury Department.

Scroll for 5 things you
need to know now