The House of Representatives voted 232-197 to impeach President Trump on Wednesday, with a majority of the chamber, including 10 Republicans, voting in favor of charging Trump with "incitement of insurrection" following his role in last week's Capitol riot. Trump is the first president to be impeached twice. Republican Reps. Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.), John Katko (R-N.Y.), Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-Wash.), Peter Meijer (R-Mich.), and six others voted to impeach Trump, with several revealing their decisions last-minute before the vote. After the vote, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) said the bipartisan impeachment was a way for the House to demonstrate that "no one is above the law, not even the president of the United States." The impeachment trial in the Senate will not begin until after President-elect Joe Biden takes office, Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) confirmed Wednesday.

Scroll for 5 things you
need to know now