Speed Reads

World Cupdate

U.S. women draw 'Group of Death' for 2015 World Cup

Australia, Nigeria, Sweden — and the United States.

Welcome to the 2015 Women's World Cup's "Group of Death."

"We got the toughest countries in all of the pots," U.S. forward Alex Morgan said. "You can't count out any team."

The American women will begin play on June 8, against Australia, USA Today reports. Four days later, they will face Sweden, now led by former U.S. coach Pia Sundhage. The U.S. women haven't won a World Cup title since 1999, but Sydney Leroux summed up the team's mentality in a tweet following the group drawings. --Sarah Eberspacher