Speed Reads

This just in

U.S. government recognizes same-sex marriage in 6 more states

Attorney General Eric Holder announced on Saturday that the federal government will recognize gay marriage in: Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, North Carolina, West Virginia, and Wyoming, The Associated Press reports.

Same-sex couples living in those states will now qualify for federal benefits such as Social Security and veterans' benefits, and Holder said the government is working "as quickly as possible" to implement those benefits. The new states recognized brings the total number of states in which same-sex couples can receive federal benefits to 32, plus the District Of Columbia.