Australian Open women’s final: Naomi Osaka vs. Petra Kvitova preview, predictions, odds, TV

Saturday’s final will crown a first-time winner in Melbourne

Australian Open 2019 women’s singles finalists Naomi Osaka and Petra Kvitova
Australian Open 2019 women’s singles finalists Naomi Osaka and Petra Kvitova
(Image credit: Quinn Rooney/Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

Australian Open women’s singles final

  • Who: Naomi Osaka vs. Petra Kvitova
  • When: Saturday 26 January
  • Where: Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne Park
  • Estimated start time: 8.30am (GMT)
  • TV channel: live on Eurosport, highlights on BBC One

Naomi Osaka and Petra Kvitova will aim to win their first Australian Open women’s singles title on Saturday in Melbourne.

In the semi-finals on Thursday US Open champion Osaka secured a 6-2, 4-6, 6-4 win against Karolina Pliskova while Czech eighth seed Kvitova beat unseeded American Danielle Collins 7-6 (7-2), 6-0.

Subscribe to The Week

Escape your echo chamber. Get the facts behind the news, plus analysis from multiple perspectives.


Sign up for The Week's Free Newsletters

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

Sign up

For Japanese star Osaka, 21, it’s a second grand slam final in a row after her victory in the United States in September.

Kvitova is aiming for a third grand slam title after wins at Wimbledon in 2011 and 2014. For the 28-year-old Kvitova her appearance in the Melbourne final comes just two years after she suffered multiple injuries during a knife attack in 2016.

The BBC reports that she sustained damage to ligaments and tendons in her playing left hand when fighting off an intruder.

On reaching her first major final since the knife attack Kvitova said: “I didn’t know even if I [was] going to play tennis again. It’s been a long journey. To be honest, I think not very many people believed that I can do that again, to stand on the court and play tennis and play on this level.”

Head to head: Osaka vs. Kvitova

Naomi Osaka

  • Nationality: Japanese
  • Age: 21
  • World ranking: 4
  • Seeding: 4
  • Plays: right-handed
  • Turned pro: 2013
  • WTA career titles: 2
  • Grand slam titles: 1 (2018 US Open)

Petra Kvitova

  • Nationality: Czech
  • Age: 28
  • World ranking: 6
  • Seeding: 8
  • Plays: left-handed
  • Turned pro: 2006
  • WTA career titles: 26
  • Grand slam titles: 2 (Wimbledon 2011, 2014)

Start time and TV channel

When and what time is the women’s final?

The Australian Open women’s singles final between Naomi Osaka and Petra Kvitova takes place on Rod Laver Arena at 8.30am (UK time) on Saturday 26 January.

How to watch on TV in the UK

The Melbourne grand slam women’s final will be shown live in the UK on Eurosport. BBC One will show highlights from 1.15pm to 2.30pm.


The Daily Telegraph: “It’s a tough one to call. Both women have been playing some of their best tennis and many neutrals wouldn’t begrudge either player of victory. We’re just edging towards Kvitova in three. Prediction: Kvitova to win in three.”

Amarjeet Nayak, Sportskeeda: “Petra Kvitova to win in three sets.”

Yesh Ginsburg, Last Word on Tennis: “This might be one of the highest-level Slam finals we’ve seen in years. Both of these players are on top of their games. They can both hit the ball cleanly and efficiently with brutal force. After seeing what Kvitova just did to Danielle Collins, though, it’s very hard to pick against her. Prediction: Kvitova in three.”

WTA Addict: “Kvitova has seemingly been working towards this moment for years, it is her time to step up and win another grand slam and become world No.1 for the first time, it’s all very fitting. Prediction: Petra Kvitova to defeat Naomi Osaka in three sets.”

Australian Open betting odds

Prices according to Oddschecker (as of 25 January).

Women’s singles winner betting odds

  • Petra Kvitova: 8/11
  • Naomi Osaka: 11/10

Set betting

  • Petra Kvitova 2-0: 2/1
  • Naomi Osaka 2-0: 11/4
  • Petra Kvitova 2-1: 3/1
  • Naomi Osaka 2-1: 7/2

Previous Australian Open winners

Women’s singles

  • 2018: Caroline Wozniacki
  • 2017: Serena Williams
  • 2016: Angelique Kerber
  • 2015: Serena Williams
  • 2014: Li Na
  • 2013: Victoria Azarenka
  • 2012: Victoria Azarenka
  • 2011: Kim Clijsters
  • 2010: Serena Williams
  • 2009: Serena Williams
To continue reading this article...
Continue reading this article and get limited website access each month.
Get unlimited website access, exclusive newsletters plus much more.
Cancel or pause at any time.
Already a subscriber to The Week?
Not sure which email you used for your subscription? Contact us