After finding out some of its gluten-free products may contain wheat, General Mills announced Monday a voluntary recall of about 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios.
The affected boxes were produced in Lodi, California, and shipped across the country. In a statement, Jim Murphy, president of the General Mills cereal division, explained that the "Lodi production facility lost rail service for a time and our gluten-free oat flour was being off-loaded from rail cars to trucks for delivery to our facility on the dates in question. In an isolated incident involving purely human error, wheat flour was inadvertently introduced into our gluten-free oat flour system at Lodi."
The recalled boxes of Cheerios have a "better if used by" date of July 14, 15, 16, or 17, 2016, and an "LD" plant code, and the Honey Nut Cheerios boxes have a "better if used by" date of July 12-25, 2016, and an "LD" plant code. People with wheat allergies, celiac disease, or gluten intolerance should not eat cereal from those boxes, and affected customers can call 1-800-775-8370 for a replacement or full refund.