Speed Reads

we are the champions

Los Angeles Sparks win third WNBA championship

The Los Angeles Sparks were victorious Thursday night over the Minnesota Lynx, defeating the team 77-76 to win the franchise's third WNBA championship.

With only three seconds left on the clock, Nneka Ogwumike hit a fallaway shot to get the Sparks to 77 points. After three quarters, the Sparks trailed by one point, and the fourth quarter was a back and forth between the two teams. After Ogwumike made her shot, Lindsey Whalen of the Lynx attempted a half-court shot, which didn't fall. This is the first WNBA championship for the Sparks in 14 years.