Speed Reads


David Ortiz broke up a no-hitter twice in the same game

JIM ROGASH/Getty Images

Yu Darvish took a no-hitter into the ninth inning of a game last Friday against the Red Sox, except he actually didn't, Major League Baseball announced Wednesday.

At issue was a little blooper Sox slugger David Ortiz hit to shallow right in the seventh inning that fell between two confused fielders. With Darvish's no-hitter intact to that point, the official scorer ruled the play an error. But because neither fielder touched the ball, pretty much everyone else thought it should have been ruled a hit; Red Sox manager John Farrell said after the game that, "10 out of 10, that's a base hit."

The point was rendered moot when Ortiz singled cleanly with two outs in the ninth to break up what was then still considered a no-hitter. And with MLB's five-day-old scoring change giving Ortiz a second hit in the game, the Boston DH now holds the bizarre honor of having broken up a no-hitter after already (retroactively) breaking up the same no-hitter.