Speed Reads


Multiple Senate Democrats vote against Harry Reid for minority leader

Sen. Harry Reid (D-Nev.) was re-elected on Thursday to lead his party, though his job title is set to change from Senate majority leader down to minority leader in the wake of last week's election defeats.

But as it's also turning out, Roll Call reports, the vote for him to remain as leader had several open dissenters among the Democratic ranks. Critical senators have cited the need for discussions on party direction or a change in leadership.

The vote was by secret ballot, but several senators have gone on the record that they voted "No," confirming so either directly or through their offices: Joe Manchin of West Virginia; Mark Warner and Tim Kaine, both of Virginia; Heidi Heitkamp of North Dakota; Claire McCaskill of Missouri, who had stated her intention earlier in the day; and Mary Landrieu, who still faces a very difficult runoff election back home in Louisiana next month.