Speed Reads

2014 midterms

Senate tally: Republicans: 52, Democrats: 45, Undecided: 3

Republicans began the night with 30 seats in the Senate, while the Democrats held 34 seats (that number includes two independents who caucus with the Democrats). Fifty-one seats are needed for the GOP to take control of the Senate. Below is an up-to-the-minute list with the results of the midterm elections.

Democratic wins (11): Delaware (Chris Coons), Hawaii (Brian Schatz), Illinois (Dick Durbin), Massachusetts (Ed Markey), Michigan (Gary Peters), Minnesota (Al Franken), New Hampshire (Jeanne Shaheen), New Jersey (Cory Booker), New Mexico (Tom Udall), Oregon (Jeff Merkley), Rhode Island (Jack Reed).

Republican wins (22): Alabama (Jeff Sessions), Arkansas (Tom Cotton), Colorado (Cory Gardner), Georgia (David Perdue), Idaho (Jim Risch), Iowa (Joni Ernst), Kansas (Pat Roberts), Kentucky (Mitch McConnell), Maine (Susan Collins), Mississippi (Thad Cochran), Montana (Steve Daines), Nebraska (Ben Sasse), North Carolina (Thom Tillis), Oklahoma (Jim Inhofe, James Lankford), South Carolina (Lindsey Graham, Tim Scott), South Dakota (Mike Rounds), Tennessee (Lamar Alexander), Texas (John Cornyn), West Virginia (Shelley Moore Capito), Wyoming (Mike Enzi).

Undecided (3): Alaska, Louisiana, Virginia.