Speed Reads

This just in

Homeland Security to require all West African travelers to enter U.S. through one of five airports

Seeking to safeguard against the spread of Ebola, the Department of Homeland Security on Tuesday announced that it will require passengers from a handful of Ebola-stricken countries to enter the U.S. via one of five airports.

The measures, to go into effect Wednesday, impact flyers from Liberia, Sierra Leone, and Guinea. Passengers whose trips originate in one of those countries will be required to land either in Newark, Atlanta, Chicago's O'Hare, New York's JFK, or Washington, D.C.'s, Dulles airport.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention last week implemented Ebola screening procedures at those five airports for passengers arriving from West Africa.