Speed Reads


The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces 2014 induction presenters and performers

Vince Bucci/Getty Images

We already knew the inductees. Now we know that Bruce Springsteen, Stevie Nicks, Bonnie Raitt, and Michael Stipe are among the musical acts who will either present or perform at the 2014 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction. The ceremony is being held April 10 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

Peter Gabriel will be inducted by Coldplay's Chris Martin, while Questlove of the Roots will instate Hall & Oates and Rage Against the Machine's Tom Morello will do the same for KISS. The other honorees are Nirvana, the E Street Band, Yusuf (formerly Cat Stevens), Rolling Stones manager and producer Andrew Loog Oldham, Beatles manager Brian Epstein, and Linda Ronstadt.

Ronstadt has announced she won't attend the event due to health issues related to Parkinson's disease. In her place, Nicks, Raitt, Emmylou Harris, Sheryl Crow, and Carrie Underwood will perform in tribute. While Ronstadt was appreciative of the nod by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, "it's something I never gave one thought to," she told the Los Angeles Times last week. "It wasn't on my radar screen."

Ronstadt is not the only honoree who won't be performing at the event; the surviving members of Nirvana will not be playing, and neither will KISS, as they can't agree with organizers on which band members will be inducted.