Speed Reads

From the wonderful world of sports

4 new members elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

Chipper Jones, Jim Thome, Vladimir Guerrero, and Trevor Hoffman were all elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame Wednesday night.

This is the fourth time the Baseball Writers' Association of America has elected four players in a year. Jones, a third baseman for the Atlanta Braves, and Thome, an infielder for the Cleveland Indians, were both selected in their first year of eligibility. To be considered for the Hall of Fame, players have to be retired for five years and need 75 percent of the vote; this year, Jones had more than 97 percent of the vote, one of the highest percentages in Hall of Fame history.

In December, a veterans committee selected Jack Morris and Alan Trammell to also join the Hall of Fame in 2018. The induction ceremony will take place July 29 in Cooperstown, New York.