England vs. India fifth Test: Jonny Bairstow to keep wicket in unchanged team

Joe Root’s side aim to secure 4-1 series victory against Virat Kohli’s India

England vs. India Test series Joe Root Virat Kohli
England captain Joe Root and India skipper Virat Kohli
(Image credit: Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

England captain Joe Root has picked an unchanged team to face India in the fifth and final Test match.

Taking place at The Oval in London, the fifth Test starts at 11am on Friday. Jonny Bairstow will resume wicketkeeping duties, having recovered from a broken middle finger.

Root will bat at No. 4, with Moeen Ali batting at No. 3. England skipper Root told Sky Sports: “I think it gives us the best chance of winning this game. Moeen has played exceptionally well at No. 3 for his county and wants to do it.”

Subscribe to The Week

Escape your echo chamber. Get the facts behind the news, plus analysis from multiple perspectives.


Sign up for The Week's Free Newsletters

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

Sign up

England take a 3-1 lead to the Oval and will look to finish the series on a high in a match that will mark Alastair Cook’s final Test.

Former England skipper Cook will retire after the India series. The 33-year-old holds England’s records for Test runs, caps and centuries. He is England’s highest-ever run scorer, with 12,254 Test runs and 32 tons from 160 Test matches.

England team for the fifth Test vs. India

  • Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Moeen Ali, Joe Root (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, Jimmy Anderson

When is the fifth Test match?

The final Test of the series takes place at The Oval in London from 7 to 11 September. Play starts on Friday at 11am and will be shown live on Sky Sports.

ODI and T20

In the limited overs matches earlier this summer, India beat England 2-1 in the three-match Twenty20 series, but England hit back in the one-day internationals, beating the tourists 2-1.

England vs. India fixtures and results

ODI results

  • 1st T20: India won by eight wickets
  • 2nd T20: England won by five wickets
  • 3rd T20: India won by seven wickets (India won the series 2-1)
  • 1st ODI: India won by eight wickets
  • 2nd ODI: England won by 86 runs
  • 3rd ODI: England won by eight wickets (England won the series 2-1)

Test results and fixtures

  • 1st Test, Edgbaston: England won by 31 runs
  • 2nd Test, Lord’s: England won by an innings and 159 runs
  • 3rd Test, Trent Bridge: India won by 203 runs
  • 4th Test, Ageas Bowl: England won by 60 runs
  • 7-11 September: 5th Test at The Oval, London 11am daily start

How to watch it on TV

Sky Sports Cricket is showing live coverage of the England vs. India series this summer.

Continue reading for free

We hope you're enjoying The Week's refreshingly open-minded journalism.

Subscribed to The Week? Register your account with the same email as your subscription.