Speed Reads

Breaking news

House of Representatives impeaches Trump

The House of Representatives on Wednesday night voted 230-197 to impeach President Trump on the first article, abuse of power.

Trump is the third president to be impeached, after Andrew Johnson in 1868 and Bill Clinton in 1998.

Lawmakers will soon vote on the second article of impeachment, obstruction of Congress.

Two conservative Democrats, Rep. Jeff Van Drew (D-N.J.) and Rep. Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), voted no, as expected. The vote to impeach has triggered a trial in the Republican-led Senate, which is expected to start in January.