Speed Reads

College Football

Alabama crushes Ohio State to win 13th college football championship title

Alabama dominated Ohio State in Monday night's College Football Playoff championship game, winning 52-24 to secure the Crimson Tide's 13th college football title. Six of those championships were won under the direction of coach Nick Saban, who entered the record books Monday night; with seven national titles under his belt, including one coaching LSU in 2003, Saban passed former Alabama coach Paul "Bear" Bryant for the most college football championships under any coach.

The is Alabama's third national title in the seven seasons of the College Football Playoff system, the most of any team. It is also probably the best team from Saban's 13 seasons coaching the Crimson Tide, USA Today notes. Alabama wide receiver DeVonata Smith, winner of this year's Heisman Trophy, also set a new SEC record for career receiving yards. The Buckeyes suffered a blow when running back Trey Sermon exited the game with a shoulder injury in the second quarter.