Speed Reads

baseball hall of fame

This year, no one was voted into the Baseball Hall of Fame

There will be no new members of the Baseball Hall of Fame this year, as none of the players on the ballot received the votes necessary.

There were 25 players on the Baseball Writers' Association of America's ballot, but none of them reached the 75 percent voting threshold needed for enshrinement. All-Star pitcher Curt Schilling came closest, but was still 16 votes shy. He has a long history of making inflammatory and offensive remarks, and he has asked to have his name removed from the ballot. This was the ninth time that Schilling, Barry Bonds, and Roger Clemens were unable to reach the 75 percent threshold.

The 2020 ceremony was postponed because of the coronavirus pandemic. In July, last year's inductees — Derek Jeter, Larry Walker, Ted Simmons, and Marvin Miller — will be celebrated in Cooperstown.