2023 Fifa Women’s World Cup: fixtures, groups and UK TV coverage

Tournament in Australia and New Zealand will be broadcast live on the BBC and ITV

United States beat the Netherlands in the 2019 final
United States beat the Netherlands in the 2019 final
(Image credit: Richard Heathcote/Getty Images)

This summer’s Fifa Women’s World Cup will be broadcast live in the UK on the BBC and ITV. All 64 matches from the tournament will be on free-to-air terrestrial TV with both broadcasters showing the final.

Co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, the Women’s World Cup will take place from Thursday 20 July until Sunday 20 August. Eden Park in Auckland is the host venue for the opening ceremony and first game between New Zealand and Norway in group A. Stadium Australia in Sydney will host the showpiece final.

European champions England are one of the 32 nations competing in the Women’s World Cup. Sarina Wiegman’s Lionesses – who are in group D with Haiti, Denmark and China – will be one of the favourites, but they have been hit by injuries to key players. Captain Leah Williamson, midfielder Fran Kirby and Euro 2022 top scorer Beth Mead have all been ruled out of the squad.

Subscribe to The Week

Escape your echo chamber. Get the facts behind the news, plus analysis from multiple perspectives.


Sign up for The Week's Free Newsletters

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

Sign up

Defending champions the United States, who beat the Netherlands 2-0 in the 2019 final, will meet the Dutch again in group E, along with Vietnam and Portugal. And Australia’s “Matildas”, who have superstar captain Sam Kerr in their ranks, are in group B with Republic of Ireland, Nigeria and Canada.

Host cities and venues

  • Adelaide, Australia: Hindmarsh Stadium
  • Brisbane, Australia: Brisbane Stadium
  • Melbourne, Australia: Melbourne Rectangular Stadium
  • Perth, Australia: Perth Rectangular Stadium
  • Sydney, Australia: Stadium Australia and Sydney Football Stadium
  • Auckland, New Zealand: Eden Park
  • Dunedin, New Zealand: Dunedin Stadium
  • Hamilton, New Zealand: Waikato Stadium
  • Wellington, New Zealand: Wellington Regional Stadium

Group draw

  • Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland
  • Group B: Australia, Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada
  • Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan
  • Group D: England, Haiti, Denmark, China
  • Group E: USA, Vietnam, Netherlands, Portugal
  • Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Panama
  • Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina
  • Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, Korea Republic

England women's head coach Sarina Wiegman

Sarina Wiegman led the Lionesses to glory at Euro 2022
(Image credit: Alex Livesey/Uefa via Getty Images)

Group fixtures

All times BST.

Thursday 20 July

  • Group A: New Zealand vs. Norway (8am, live on BBC)
  • Group B: Australia vs. Republic of Ireland (11am, ITV)

Friday 21 July

  • Group B: Nigeria vs. Canada (3.30am, BBC)
  • Group A: Philippines vs. Switzerland (6am, ITV)
  • Group C: Spain vs. Costa Rica (8.30am, BBC)

Saturday 22 July

  • Group E: USA vs. Vietnam (2am, BBC)
  • Group C: Zambia vs. Japan (8am, BBC)
  • Group D: England vs. Haiti (10.30am, ITV)
  • Group D: Denmark vs. China (1pm, BBC)

Sunday 23 July

  • Group G: Sweden vs. South Africa (6am, BBC)
  • Group E: Netherlands vs. Portugal (8.30am, BBC)
  • Group F: France vs. Jamaica (11am, ITV)

Monday 24 July

  • Group G: Italy vs. Argentina (7am, ITV)
  • Group H: Germany vs. Morocco (9.30am, ITV)
  • Group F: Brazil vs. Panama (12pm, ITV)

Tuesday 25 July

  • Group H: Colombia vs. Korea Republic (3am, BBC)
  • Group A: New Zealand vs. Philippines (6.30am, ITV)
  • Group A: Switzerland vs. Norway (9am, ITV)

Wednesday 26 July

  • Group C: Japan vs. Costa Rica (6am, ITV)
  • Group C: Spain vs. Zambia (8.30am, BBC)
  • Group B: Canada vs. Republic of Ireland (1pm, ITV)

Thursday 27 July

  • Group E: USA vs. Netherlands (2am, BBC)
  • Group E: Portugal vs. Vietnam (8.30am, ITV)
  • Group B: Australia vs. Nigeria (11am, BBC)

Friday 28 July

  • Group G: Argentina vs. South Africa (1am, ITV)
  • Group D: England vs. Denmark (9.30am, BBC)
  • Group D: China vs. Haiti (12pm, ITV)

Saturday 29 July

  • Group G: Sweden vs. Italy (8.30am, BBC)
  • Group F: France vs. Brazil (11am, BBC)
  • Group F: Panama vs. Jamaica (1.30pm, ITV)

Sunday 30 July

  • Group H: Korea Republic vs. Morocco (5.30am, BBC)
  • Group A: Norway vs. Philippines (8am, BBC)
  • Group A: Switzerland vs. New Zealand (8am, BBC)
  • Group H: Germany vs. Colombia (10.30am, ITV)

Monday 31 July

  • Group C: Japan vs. Spain (8am, ITV)
  • Group C: Costa Rica vs. Zambia (8am, ITV)
  • Group B: Canada vs. Australia (11am, BBC)
  • Group B: Republic of Ireland vs. Nigeria (11am, BBC)

Tuesday 1 August

  • Group E: Portugal vs. USA (8am, ITV)
  • Group E: Vietnam vs. Netherlands (8am, ITV)
  • Group D: Haiti vs. Denmark (12pm, ITV)
  • Group D: China vs. England (12pm, ITV)

Wednesday 2 August

  • Group G: South Africa vs. Italy (8am, BBC)
  • Group G: Argentina vs. Sweden (8am, BBC)
  • Group F: Panama vs. France (11am, ITV)
  • Group F: Jamaica vs. Brazil (11am, ITV)

Thursday 3 August

  • Group H: Korea Republic vs. Germany (11am, BBC)
  • Group H: Morocco vs. Colombia (11am, BBC)

Chelsea striker Sam Kerr is captain of Australia’s Matildas

Chelsea striker Sam Kerr is captain of Australia’s Matildas
(Image credit: Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

Round of 16

Saturday 5 August

  • Group A winners vs. Group C runners-up (6am)
  • Group C winners vs. Group A runners-up (9am)

Sunday 6 August

  • Group E winners vs. Group G runners-up (3am)
  • Group G winners vs. Group E runners-up (10am)

Monday 7 August

  • Group D winners vs. Group B runners-up (8.30am)
  • Group B winners vs. Group D runners-up (11.30am)

Tuesday 8 August

  • Group H winners vs. Group F runners-up (9am)
  • Group F winners vs. Group H runners-up (12pm)


Saturday 11 August

  • Round of 16 one winner vs. Round of 16 three winner (2am)
  • Round of 16 two winner vs. Round of 16 four winner (8.30am)

Sunday 12 August

  • Round of 16 five winner vs. Round of 16 seven winner (8am)
  • Round of 16 six winner vs. Round of 16 eight winner (11.30am)


Tuesday 15 August

  • Winner of QF1 vs. Winner of QF2 (9am)

Wednesday 16 August

  • Winner of QF 3 vs. Winner of QF4 (11am)

Third-place play-off

Saturday 19 August

  • Loser of SF1 vs. Loser of SF2 (9am)
  • TV coverage: live on ITV

2023 Fifa Women’s World Cup final

  • When: Sunday 20 August
  • Where: Stadium Australia, Sydney
  • Kick-off time: 11am (BST)
  • TV coverage: live on BBC and ITV

Continue reading for free

We hope you're enjoying The Week's refreshingly open-minded journalism.

Subscribed to The Week? Register your account with the same email as your subscription.

Mike Starling is the digital features editor at The Week, where he writes content and edits the Arts & Life and Sport website sections and the Food & Drink and Travel newsletters. He started his career in 2001 in Gloucestershire as a sports reporter and sub-editor and has held various roles as a writer and editor at news, travel and B2B publications. He has spoken at a number of sports business conferences and also worked as a consultant creating sports travel content for tourism boards. International experience includes spells living and working in Dubai, UAE; Brisbane, Australia; and Beirut, Lebanon.