England World Cup guide: squad, fixtures, shirt numbers, TV and betting odds

Three Lions head coach Gareth Southgate takes a young squad to Russia

England World Cup team guide Gareth Southgate Harry Kane
England are in World Cup group G with Belgium, Panama and Tunisia
(Image credit: Clive Rose/Getty Images )

England are in group G at the 2018 Fifa World Cup and will face Belgium, Panama and Tunisia.

According to the bookies the Three Lions are second favourites to win the group behind Belgium and so are favoured to qualify for the World Cup knockout stage.

Head coach Gareth Southgate has named Harry Kane as his captain and it looks likely that Jordan Pickford will be given the goalkeeping gloves for the opening group clash against Tunisia on 18 June at Volgograd Arena.

Subscribe to The Week

Escape your echo chamber. Get the facts behind the news, plus analysis from multiple perspectives.


Sign up for The Week's Free Newsletters

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

Sign up

The games against Tunisia and Panama are live on the BBC while ITV will show live coverage of the Belgium match.

England at the World Cup: further reading

England World Cup fixtures

  • 18 June: vs. Tunisia at Volgograd Arena, Volgograd (7pm, BBC One)
  • 24 June: vs. Panama at Nizhny Novgorod Stadium, Nizhny Novgorod (1pm, BBC One)
  • 28 June: vs. Belgium at Kaliningrad Stadium, Kaliningrad (7pm, ITV)

Southgate’s 23-man World Cup squad

  • Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley)
  • Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Harry Maguire (Leicester), Danny Rose (Tottenham), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ashley Young (Manchester United)
  • Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea)
  • Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham, captain), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal)
See more

England squad numbers

Everton goalkeeper Jordan Pickford has been given the No.1 shirt for the World Cup, but does that mean he will start against the Tunisians on 18 June? Captain Kane is England’s No.9 while Raheem Sterling is No.10 and Dele Alli is No.20.

  • 1 Jordan Pickford
  • 2 Kyle Walker
  • 3 Danny Rose
  • 4 Eric Dier
  • 5 John Stones
  • 6 Harry Maguire
  • 7 Jesse Lingard
  • 8 Jordan Henderson
  • 9 Harry Kane (captain)
  • 10 Raheem Sterling
  • 11 Jamie Vardy
  • 12 Kieran Trippier
  • 13 Jack Butland
  • 14 Danny Welbeck
  • 15 Gary Cahill
  • 16 Phil Jones
  • 17 Fabian Delph
  • 18 Ashley Young
  • 19 Marcus Rashford
  • 20 Dele Alli
  • 21 Ruben Loftus-Cheek
  • 22 Trent Alexander-Arnold
  • 23 Nick Pope

England World Cup betting odds

Latest best prices according to Oddschecker (as of 6 June).

To continue reading this article...
Continue reading this article and get limited website access each month.
Get unlimited website access, exclusive newsletters plus much more.
Cancel or pause at any time.
Already a subscriber to The Week?
Not sure which email you used for your subscription? Contact us