GolfSixes guide: players, teams, tee times, tickets and how it works

Featuring male and female golfers, the team event is this weekend at the Centurion Club in St Albans

GolfSixes 2018 format tee times teams players European Tour golf
Denmark’s Thorbjorn Olesen and Lucas Bjerregaard won the GolfSixes title in May 2017
(Image credit: Andrew Redington/Getty Images )

The second edition of the European Tour’s GolfSixes event takes place at the Centurion Club in St Albans from 5 to 6 May.

Sixteen two-player teams will compete for the GolfSixes trophy, which was won in 2017 by Thorbjorn Olesen and Lucas Bjerregaard. The Danish duo return to the Centurion Club to defend their title and start with a group match against Thailand on Saturday.

History will be made when European Ryder Cup skipper Thomas Bjorn and his Solheim Cup counterpart Catriona Matthew partner in the Captains team. It is the first time in European Tour history that male and female professional golfers play together in a competitive match play format.

Subscribe to The Week

Escape your echo chamber. Get the facts behind the news, plus analysis from multiple perspectives.


Sign up for The Week's Free Newsletters

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

Sign up

Another group match to watch out for is the clash between England and England Women on Saturday (12.04pm tee-off). Eddie Pepperell and Matt Wallace will face England Women stars Georgia Hall and Charley Hull.

In this guide we look at how the GolfSixes tournament works, the format, teams, players, matches and tee times.

2018 GolfSixes event guide

When is the 2018 GolfSixes?

The event starts on Saturday 5 May with three sessions in the group stages. Then on Sunday 6 May there is a knockout format with quarter-finals and semi-finals played before the 3rd/4th play-off and final.

Where is it held?

The Centurion Club in St Albans near London will host the tournament.

Are GolfSixes tickets still available?

Yes. Adult daily tickets cost £16 and child tickets cost £5. See for more information.

What TV channel is showing the event?

Sky Sports Golf will broadcast live from midday on Saturday and Sunday from the Centurion Club.

See more

GolfSixes format: how it works

The 16 country teams will have two players each. Games are played in a six-hole match play format. Saturday’s group stages - four groups of four teams - will see the pairs compete for the top two positions in order to qualify for Sunday’s knockout rounds.

How points are won

In Saturday’s group stage matches three points will be awarded to the winning team, one point for a draw and zero for a defeat. The European Tour website says that if any of Sunday’s matches are tied then a “specially constructed play-off hole” will be used. If the match is still level it will be settled by a “closest to the pin challenge on the same hole”.

GolfSixes players, teams and groups

Group A

  • Denmark: Lucas Bjerregaard and Thorbjorn Olesen (defending champions)
  • Thailand: Kiradech Aphibarnrat and Thongchai Jaidee
  • USA: Daniel Im and David Lipsky
  • European Women: Carlota Ciganda and Mel Reid

Group B

  • Australia: Sam Brazel and Wade Ormsby
  • South Korea: Jeunghun Wang and Soomin Lee
  • Spain: Pablo Larrazabal and Adrian Otaegui
  • European Captains: Thomas Bjorn and Catriona Matthew

Group C

  • France: Mike Lorenzo-Vera and Romain Wattel
  • Italy: Edoardo Molinari and Renato Paratore
  • Scotland: Scott Jamieson and Richie Ramsay
  • Ireland: Paul Dunne and Gavin Moynihan

Group D

  • England: Eddie Pepperell and Matt Wallace
  • South Africa: George Coetzee and Haydn Porteous
  • Sweden: Alexander Bjork and Joakim Lagergren
  • England Women: Georgia Hall and Charley Hull
See more

GolfSixes matches and tee times

Saturday’s action will feature three sessions of group matches. Sunday will see the knockout matches and finals. Sunday’s final tees off at 4.35pm.

Saturday group fixtures - session one tee times

  • 10.52am: USA vs. European Women
  • 11.04am: Denmark vs. Thailand
  • 11.16am: Australia vs. South Korea
  • 11.28am: Spain vs. Captains
  • 11.40am: France vs. Italy
  • 11.52am: Scotland vs. Ireland
  • 12.04pm: England vs. England Women
  • 12.16pm: South Africa vs. Sweden

Saturday group fixtures - session two tee times

  • 12.35pm: Denmark vs. European Women
  • 12.47pm: Thailand vs. USA
  • 12.59pm: Australia vs. Captains
  • 1.11pm: South Korea vs. Spain
  • 1.23pm: France vs. Ireland
  • 1.35pm: Scotland vs. Italy
  • 1.47pm: South Africa vs. England Women
  • 1.59pm: England vs. Sweden

Saturday group fixtures - session three tee times

  • 3.17pm: Thailand vs. European Women
  • 3.29pm: Denmark vs. USA
  • 3.41pm: South Korea vs. Captains
  • 3.53pm: Australia vs. Spain
  • 4.05pm: France vs. Scotland
  • 4.17pm: Italy vs. Ireland
  • 4.29pm: Sweden vs. England Women
  • 4.41pm: England vs. South Africa

Sunday knockout matches: quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals

  • 12.40pm: QF1 Winner A vs. Runner-up B
  • 12.55pm: QF2 Winner C vs. Runner-up D
  • 1.10pm: QF3 Winner B vs. Runner-up A
  • 1.25pm: QF4 Winner D vs. Runner-up C
  • 2.35pm: SF1 Winner QF1 vs. Winner QF2
  • 2.50pm: SF2 Winner QF3 vs. Winner QF4
  • 4.20pm: 3rd/4th Play-off Runner-up SF1 vs. Runner-up SF2
  • 4.35pm: Final - Winner SF1 vs. Winner SF2

Continue reading for free

We hope you're enjoying The Week's refreshingly open-minded journalism.

Subscribed to The Week? Register your account with the same email as your subscription.