Speed Reads


Doug Jones, Tina Smith sworn into U.S. Senate

Democrats Doug Jones and Tina Smith were sworn into the Senate by Vice President Mike Pence on Wednesday. Jones defeated Republican Roy Moore in a special election last month for the right to assume Alabama's open Senate seat, while Smith was tapped by Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton (D) to fill the seat of former Sen. Al Franken (D-Minn.), who resigned following sexual harassment allegations.

The two senators joining the upper chamber slims the Republicans' majority in the Senate to 51-49, as Jones is succeeding the Republican former Sen. Luther Strange (Ala.). Watch Jones and Smith take the oath of office below. Kimberly Alters