Leicester and Spurs and dominate Arsenal and Man Utd in PFA team of the year

Eight players from Tottenham and the Foxes make the team - but there's no place for Mesut Ozil

Spurs's Harry Kane and Dele Alli in action this season
(Image credit: Shaun Botterill/Getty Images)

Mesut Ozil was the most glaring omission from the PFA team of the year, released yesterday, which was dominated by the Premier League's two best teams, Leicester and Tottenham Hotspur.

The pair provided eight of the 11 players, with Arsenal, Manchester United and West Ham stars filling the gaps.

The PFA was forced to announce the team early after a copy of the programme for its annual awards ceremony, which takes place on Sunday, was leaked.

Subscribe to The Week

Escape your echo chamber. Get the facts behind the news, plus analysis from multiple perspectives.


Sign up for The Week's Free Newsletters

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

Sign up

Unsurprisingly, English strikers Harry Kane and Jamie Vardy provide the firepower after scoring 46 league goals between them this season and propelling their teams to the top two places in the table.

In midfield, the Foxes' duo of N'Golo Kante and Riyad Mahrez are joined by Spurs youngster Dele Alli and West Ham playmaker Dimitri Payet.

And Spurs and Leicester combine yet again in the centre of defence, with Wes Morgan and Toby Alderweireld picked alongside Tottenham full-back Danny Rose and Hector Bellerin of Arsenal. They line up in front of Man United keeper David de Gea.

Criticism of the team was muted, with most observers accepting that the XI have all had outstanding seasons.

However, several players were unlucky not to get the nod.

"Ozil's exclusion is a surprising one with the Germany international among the six nominees for this year's PFA Player of the Year Award," says the Daily Mail.

Sergio Aguero of Manchester City, who has never been selected for the team, and Romelu Lukaku of Everton also missed out.

The choice of Arsenal full-back Bellerin prompted the most discussion, with yet more candidates from Spurs and Leicester - Kyle Walker and Danny Simpson - put forward to replace him.

See more
See more
See more
See more

PFA team of the year

David de Gea (Man Utd), Hector Bellerín (Arsenal), Wes Morgan (Leicester), Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Danny Rose (Tottenham), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester), Dele Alli (Tottenham), N'Golo Kante (Leicester), Dimitri Payet (West Ham), Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Harry Kane (Tottenham).

To continue reading this article...
Continue reading this article and get limited website access each month.
Get unlimited website access, exclusive newsletters plus much more.
Cancel or pause at any time.
Already a subscriber to The Week?
Not sure which email you used for your subscription? Contact us