Speed Reads

surprise surprise

Paul Ryan wins re-election with votes from all but one Republican

House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-Wis.) won re-election Tuesday with 239 votes, securing his spot as leader of the 115th Congress. In a formal vote on Congress' opening day, Ryan earned the support of every Republican except Rep. Tom Massie (R-Ky.), who voted for Rep. Daniel Webster (R-Fla.). The nearly unanimous vote marks a striking move towards party unity, as several Republicans defected when Ryan was first elected speaker in 2015.

Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) was re-elected as minority leader, winning the support of most Democrats. Three Democrats voted against her, with Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.) voting for Rep. John Lewis (R-Ga.); Rep. Jim Cooper (D-Tenn.) voting for Rep. Tim Ryan (D-Ohio); and Rep. Ron Kind (D-Wis.) voting for Cooper.