Australian Open 2019: men’s and women’s finals, betting odds, TV guide

Top two seeds Djokovic and Nadal will battle it out in the men’s final on Sunday

Melbourne Park will host the Australian Open tennis grand slam in January 2019
The Australian Open tennis grand slam is held at Melbourne Park
(Image credit: Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

Australian Open 2019

Djokovic to face Nadal

World No.1 Novak Djokovic will play world No.2 Rafael Nadal in the 2019 Australian Open men’s singles final in Melbourne.

Subscribe to The Week

Escape your echo chamber. Get the facts behind the news, plus analysis from multiple perspectives.


Sign up for The Week's Free Newsletters

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

From our morning news briefing to a weekly Good News Newsletter, get the best of The Week delivered directly to your inbox.

Sign up

On Friday Djokovic, the top seed, secured his spot in the showpiece match after beating Frenchman Lucas Pouille 6-0, 6-2, 6-2. Second seed Nadal beat Stefanos Tsitsipas 6-2, 6-4, 6-0 in Thursday’s other men’s last-four clash.

Should Djokovic win on Sunday it would be a record seventh Melbourne title for the Serbian and move him one clear of six-time winners Roy Emerson and Roger Federer. Nadal is a 17-time grand slam champion while Djokovic has 14 grand slam titles to his name.

When is the men’s final?

The men’s singles final between Djokovic and Nadal will be held on Sunday 27 January at 8.30am (UK time).

How to watch the men’s final on TV in the UK

Sunday’s men’s final will be live on Eurosport. BBC Two will show highlights from 2.20pm to 3.50pm.

Australian Open 2019 women’s singles finalists Naomi Osaka and Petra Kvitova

(Image credit: Quinn Rooney/Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

Women’s final: Osaka vs. Kvitova

Before Sunday’s men’s final the women’s championship match takes place on Saturday between Naomi Osaka and Petra Kvitova.

Japan’s Osaka will be aiming for second successive grand slam title after her victory in the United States last year. Czech star Kvitova is going for a third grand slam following her wins at Wimbledon in 2011 and 2014.

When is the women’s final?

The Australian Open women’s singles final between Osaka and Kvitova takes place on Rod Laver Arena at 8.30am (UK time) on Saturday 26 January.

How to watch the women’s final on TV in the UK

Saturday’s women’s final will be shown live in the UK on Eurosport. BBC One will show highlights from 1.15pm to 2.30pm.

Australian Open betting odds

Prices according to Oddschecker (as of 25 January).

Men’s singles winner betting odds

  • Novak Djokovic: 4/5
  • Rafael Nadal: 11/10

Set betting

  • Novak Djokovic 3-1: 15/4
  • Novak Djokovic 3-0: 4/1
  • Rafael Nadal 3-1: 4/1
  • Rafael Nadal 3-0: 5/1
  • Novak Djokovic 3-2: 11/2
  • Rafael Nadal 3-2: 6/1

Women’s singles winner betting odds

  • Petra Kvitova: 8/11
  • Naomi Osaka: 11/10

Set betting

  • Petra Kvitova 2-0: 2/1
  • Naomi Osaka 2-0: 11/4
  • Petra Kvitova 2-1: 3/1
  • Naomi Osaka 2-1: 7/2

Previous Australian Open winners

Women’s singles

  • 2018: Caroline Wozniacki
  • 2017: Serena Williams
  • 2016: Angelique Kerber
  • 2015: Serena Williams
  • 2014: Li Na
  • 2013: Victoria Azarenka
  • 2012: Victoria Azarenka
  • 2011: Kim Clijsters
  • 2010: Serena Williams
  • 2009: Serena Williams

Men’s singles

  • 2018: Roger Federer
  • 2017: Roger Federer
  • 2016: Novak Djokovic
  • 2015: Novak Djokovic
  • 2014: Stan Wawrinka
  • 2013: Novak Djokovic
  • 2012: Novak Djokovic
  • 2011: Novak Djokovic
  • 2010: Roger Federer
  • 2009: Rafael Nadal
To continue reading this article...
Continue reading this article and get limited website access each month.
Get unlimited website access, exclusive newsletters plus much more.
Cancel or pause at any time.
Already a subscriber to The Week?
Not sure which email you used for your subscription? Contact us