Speed Reads


Dave Chappelle to receive Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

The Kennedy Center announced on Tuesday that Dave Chappelle is the next recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

"Dave is the embodiment of Mark Twain's observation that 'against the assault of humor, nothing can stand,'" Kennedy Center President Deborah F. Rutter said in a statement. "For three decades, Dave has challenged us to see hot-button issues from his entirely original yet relatable perspective." The prize is given to those who have helped shape society through their comedy. Chappelle, 45, is the 22nd person to receive the award, which in recent years has been given to Julia Louis-Dreyfus, David Letterman, and Eddie Murphy.

Chappelle has won two Emmy and two Grammy awards, and is best known for creating and starring in the critically acclaimed Chappelle's Show. He continues to tour and film stand-up specials, and appeared in 2018's A Star is Born. Chappelle will be honored at the Kennedy Center on Oct. 27, with the event airing on PBS on Jan. 6, 2020.